The girl who couldn’t stop smiling

Once upon a time, a girl and her mother went for a walk.

DSC_0287_edited-1.jpg

It was a beautiful day. The grass was green and the sun was shining. Her mother let her wear her new dress and she was so happy she could not stop smiling.

DSC_0181.JPG

After awhile, the girl said, “My cheeks hurt. I must stop smiling so much.”

DSC_0143.JPG

The girl’s mom said, “But surely you could smile one more time.”

“No,” the girl said, “I will not smile anymore.”

Then she put her hand under her chin and thought really hard.

DSC_0231.JPG

Then she said, “Maybe when I think about ice cream I shall smile…

DSC_0234.JPG

…And when I think about my baby dolls with brown hair. Smiles make them happy. But that is all.
DSC_0174.JPG

Her mother said, “Oh, but what if you spin round and round? Won’t you want to smile then?”

“No,” said the girl. “I will not smile when I spin round and round.” And she decided to show her mother.

DSC_0168.JPG

“Well, twirly dresses do make me smile,” she pointed out.

Then she stopped smiling again.

DSC_0144.JPG

“What about dandelions? Don’t they make you smile?” her mother asked.

“No, absolutely not. Daddy says they’re weeds and I don’t smile at weeds,” she told her mother.

“Oh,” said her mother as they rested on a bench,”Look at all those weeds.”

DSC_0320.JPG

DSC_0309.JPG

“Well, maybe they make me smile a little bit,” she decided.

DSC_0303_edited-1.jpg

DSC_0381.JPG

“Yes. Maybe a little bit,” said her mother.

DSC_0173_edited-1.jpg

Got something to say? Spill it here:

