Rescued

People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; never throw out anyone. ~Audrey Hepburn

Lilies2

I almost threw these out when I was cleaning up the garden last fall. We’re new to the house and I didn’t know exactly what they would become next year, but I do know I’m not fond of the vertical, mini-leaf nature of lilies. Not to mention, their blooms can often be a Crayola burnt orange color with ugly brown freckles, so I thought surely I could do better with something else.

But I left them there because I hate to throw things away.

I know what you’re thinking.

I’m not a hoarder. At least, not in the A&E TV sense of the word. I am fully capable of traveling all the way from my office to the kitchen without tripping over anything more than a stray sock and a few Nerf darts. And if that’s hoarding, then you need to talk to my kids, not me.

I hate to throw away things that are still living and need a chance. Maybe nature wasn’t kind to lilies. Maybe they’re the underdog of the flower world. How am I to know? I couldn’t just toss them, especially if they’re the underdog.

I watched one of those landscape makeover shows where a lady was throwing herself over every bit of greenery the show’s landscapers wanted to dig up. They were clearly perplexed at how she even made it onto the show in the first place. I, on the other hand, could totally identify with her. Those plants weren’t beautiful, but they were trying.

My husband tells me if I “rescue” one more living thing he’s going to need rescuing. The plants, the fish, the dog, the cat that really isn’t ours, but slinks around the neighbor’s yard like it wants to be, the wicker chair – they’re all rescues.

Just think, though. If I had tossed out all those lilies last fall (and trust me, there are a lot of them!), I wouldn’t have been blessed with this when I took the garbage out this morning. It felt like they were showing off just for me.

Lilies1

All that being said, I wouldn’t count any of my friends or family – husband included – rescues. If anything, they’re rescuing me.

Just don’t tell me when it’s time to get rid of your hamster.

2 thoughts on “Rescued

  1. The lilies are gorgeous and I for one am happy you let them make a comeback. Where there is life there is hope is that the message here? A heart of compassion is a great heart to have! And you do have that heart.

  2. Pingback: Mea Coffee « unsweptstone

Got something to say? Spill it here:

