What’s Holding You Back?

Unless you count the horrible shot we asked a stranger to take of us in front of the Capitol Building last year, we haven’t had our family pictures done in awhile.

I can’t seem to find the actual Capitol Building picture to share (how fortunate for you!) so enjoy this handmade depiction instead. Just don’t expect to actually see the Capitol Building in it. It was off to the right. Waaay off to the right.

Sometimes illustrations are better than the real thing anyway.

So, we haven’t had our pictures done in a while and I’ll tell you why.

– My gray is especially shiny this time of year.

– The 20lbs I lost a few years ago have found their way back.

– I have this brownish thing on my forehead and I can’t seem to make it go away.

That’s right. It’s all about me.

Because I’m bloated/suffering a hangnail/bad at cutting my own bangs, I have declared war on any lens pointed in my direction.

Does this sound familiar? When was the last time you had your family pictures done?

Is your family photo missing a family member?

Was the baby of the family an actual baby back then?

Were your bangs teased several inches above your forehead?

Was your husband sporting mutton chops?

I implore you – don’t be selfish like me. Your family doesn’t care. They love you the way you are and waiting for that perfect you to come along may take awhile. Heck, that brownish thing on my forehead may never go away.

Don’t you want to remember these days?

I decided I do. No matter how imperfect they are, I do.

And I’m so glad I changed my mind.

A special thanks to my friend Kim for taking our family photos this year. I think they’re beautiful.

5 thoughts on “What’s Holding You Back?

  1. I had to come and look at this again…I have to say…I really do love this picture. So many things about it but my absolute favorite part is that Mr. Jerry has his arms around his whole family drawing you close to him…perfect!

Got something to say? Spill it here:

